Tuesday, July 28, 2009

8 weeks before Jerbear arrives!

Ok, we are more than a week late!!! But here is the blog from last week that never posted.

Yippee! 2 months to go (that is 32 weeks down, 8 weeks to go for those of you that have been keeping track)!


So let me start by saying how absolutely blessed I feel right now. Okay, now you know just how blessed I feel. Well every other minute I think about how extremely petrified I am to give birth. I am more afraid of the labor at this point that I am to be Jeremy's mom. I have so many great people in my life that have reassured me that I will love him to pieces. And you know what, I will. All of my previous reservations about having children has completely disipated. Hey, my grand(Mother) raised two smart-mouthed girls with absolutely NO money and little support, and she was disabled. And look how we turned out. I just need to rest and be reassured of all of her teachings. Took me how many months to figure that one out?!


Now, if someone could convince me that the labor will not be so bad. Oh yeah, did I also mention that my other waking fear is that there will be something wrong with Jerbear or something will happen to me? Those who know me, know that I am a bit of a pessimist. OK, maybe more than a bit. I am a true worrywart. I feared dying at 30 because my mother died at 30. If you know from what you probably think I was irrational. Well, with my birthday 5 days ago at least I am almost 31! I won't mention some of my other fears, but trust me they are there.


But these two are nagging me so much I can hardly sleep at night. How do other mothers do it? Richard does not seem to mind or fear any of this stuff. Is it me, or are these rational fears?


My line sister--- that is my sorority sister I pledged with, just had her baby on Sunday. She was due Aug. 11th. Baby girl Kissa Adore'e was a few weeks early. Congrats Gisele and Keith. My cousins baby Alyssa was born at 30 weeks, 2 months early! My hope is that we can hold out for the full term. Why, simply put.. I am writing my thesis and work! Oh, and I am not ready yet. We don't even have the car seat yet. So really, I think a few more weeks will hopefully not hurt anything.


But I must reiterate again, how excited I am to meet my little man. I went to the library after a work meeting yesterday evening and checked out some labor and delivery books. The one for dad is awesome. I like his better than my own. We are all set for our childbirthing classes to start next Thursday 8/6/09. Hopefully they won't scare me. Everyone says they are a waste of time, but after reading a few snippets of those books....ummmm let's just say there is a lot of stuff I am not aware of. Let's just say there are more steps to labor than the part where I am actually giving birth. If you knew that, good for you smarty pants, I didn't. Yea, I am one of those learn as I go type of people. I don't rush things and usually wait until it is time to know something.


Let's see... Jerbear is well is my my karate pro, gymnast, soccer champ... are you getting my drift here? He is pretty much active all day every day. Though for some reason, on his pre-birth day days he gets really quiet. I wonder what that is all about. I am sure when we ready for bed he will be super active again, making me want to yelp.

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

63 days to go.... I'm so excited

Wow, we have reached 31 weeks! My mom is super excited. Oh yeah, mom let me write to you all today since she hogged it last week.

Let's see, according to the doc, I am looking pretty good. He was impressed. Mom has not gained any weight since her last visit, but I sure have.

Mom and dad have been busy this week. They painted my room (well dad did most of the work while mom looked on). They put my crib together today and arranged my room. It looks great. My sister (Meeko) keeps running in my room for some reason though. I think she thinks it's her room.. WRONG! Who can blame her though, I'd want that room for myself as well. Good thing it's mine :)! Now mom is trying to put the finishing touches on my room. Hopefully she does not go over board.

My Aunt NeNe has been busy with the baby shower stuff. Mommy has been helping out some. So right now I feel like a prince, everything is about me. Though I think Meeko is a bit jealous. She'll just have to get use to it. She is no longer the baby of the house, though Mommy keeps saying that she is her first born. Not sure how that can be considering she is a dog. But don't let her hear you say that, she thinks she's human.

It's been nice having mom so relaxed this week. She's on vacation with Daddy and even though they have been busy she has really enjoyed her time off and time with Daddy. I hope it stays that way when she returns to work next week and really get re-focused on her thesis. Well, I guess we should call it a night. Mommy never took her nap today as Daddy suggested, so I need to let her sleep. She complains she cannot get comfortable enough to sleep anymore. Something about her belly (I guess she is referring to me) being in the way. She has so many pillows in the bed Daddy has no room. Not to mention she is now making him sleep on her side of the bed. Poor daddy.

Well until next week :) Nighty night. Time for Mommy to read to me and sing Jesus Loves Me before falling off to sleep.

Jerbear!

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

We made it to 30 weeks

Wow, given the rocky road we started out on, Jeremy has made it to 30 weeks as of yesterday. How exciting! For his birthday we bought him his very own crib. We'll Grandma and Grandpa did :)! What a task it was to find that thing. My impatience caused me to purchase his changing table and dresser weeks ago when it was on sale at Sears. Little did I know that they had discontinued the brand, no wonder it was so inexpensive. So of course trying to find a color that matches perfectly was impossible. Can I say anxiety attack. No, really, I almost had an anxiety attack because I wanted his crib to be just right. Well it was either that or the stress I was feeling over my comprehensive exams.

Thank GOD that is over!... Now the hard part, waiting to find out if we passed. I say we because my little man was very active throughout the entire 4 hours I was taking the exam. Yes, you read correctly, FOUR hours! I wanted to be as thorough as possible. Hopefully I didn't over think anything.

OK, back to baby room shopping. So now my anxiety is over. Yea right, so I realize that the colors do not match as well as I would like. Now I am tempted to take it back to the store and try all over again. This is frustrating. I should call Sears for misleading me to thinking I could buy the crib online. Can I cry now?! The anal, retentive, perfectionist in me is screaming at this point. Of course NeNe and Richard are telling me I am crazy. Jerbear probably is too, but he can't talk yet.

Well, I guess we should call it a night and rest our sleepy heads. Jerbear is now really partying at night while Mommy tries to sleep. Hmmmm..... hopefully I will be able to sleep throughout the night.

Talk to you next week,

Jerbear's mom..... he may be back with his own report :) He seems to see things differently than I.

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

11 weeks to go.. we made it to the 3rd trimester

Wow, I am 29 weeks old today. My Mommy and Daddy are really getting excited. So am I. I cannot wait to meet them.
Mommy has been singing Jesus Loves Me every night, after our reading, spelling, and definition lessons. I am going to be smart as a whip. I wonder if I should tell Mommy that her voice is not all that great, but I still feel special that she is singing to me.
She has been complaining about feeling tired lately. She won't admit that I am the cause. She says stress and studying for some exam she has on Monday. But Daddy and Aunt NeNe keep telling her that she is now in the 3rd trimester (whatever that means) and she is suppose to be tired.
I finally got to meet my grandma and grandpa, and Aunt Kymmie. I also met my cousin AJ. OK, well not really met them but Mommy and Daddy went to go see them with my sister Meeko, and I actually got a chance to tell my Aunt Kymmie hello (I was kicking). She liked it. I can't wait to meet them for real. She made the best hot dogs (shhh... Mommy says she was not suppose to eat a hot dog--- Daddy called her out for it too) and hamburgers and steak. Mmmmm mmmm good, I can still taste it. Though Daddy's dinner tonight of baked pork chops, broccoli, and rice were good too.
Well Mommy says she needs to get back to studying before she falls asleep. So I will quickly update you all. I am 29 weeks old, I will be here before you know it. I think 11 weeks to go to be exact. Daddy thinks I will be here on time, so does Mommy. My favorite past time is kicking Mommy and making her yelp out loud. Though I have been pretty quiet today. We saw the doctor yesterday. Mommy gained 3 more pounds, but I think the Dr. wants her to gain more because she told Mommy not to slack off. But my heart is beating strong and I weigh more than 2 pounds now. Here take a look at what I may look like, Mommy says my skin is probably darker than that, but look anyway. Me at 29 weeks!!
Well we are wrapping up studying so Mommy can go spend some time with Daddy at 9p. I love you all. Can't wait to talk to you all next week.

J.L.